Main Menu



Translate Page

English Learner Programs

About GUSD English Learner Program

English Learners face the daunting task of learning the academic curriculum and a new language concurrently. They need to learn English quickly enough and fluently enough to participate in academic work, and like all children, learn grade level mathematics, reading/language arts, social studies, and science.  

The law governing the educational services for English Learners is varied and consists of both state and federal requirements. Federal law clearly takes precedence over state law if there is a conflict. Therefore, districts must ensure that they comply with all federal requirements while also implementing state requirements.  

Program for English Learners in Gilroy Unified School District  

Kathleen Biermann, the Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Intervention, is responsible for the core and supplemental curriculum plan and materials designed to ensure that ELL have access to a rigorous, standards-based curriculum along with appropriate support for the rapid and efficient acquisition of the English language. This includes management of the textbook adoption process and professional development for teachers to implement the curriculum.  


GUSD English Learners Master Plan 2013-2016


ELPAC logo

The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the successor to the California English Language Development Test (CELDT). Beginning in 2017–18, the ELPAC is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English. The California Department of Education (CDE) expects to be fully transitioned from the CELDT to the ELPAC as the state's assessment of ELP by 2018–19.

State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten (or year one of a two-year kindergarten program, sometimes referred to as “transitional kindergarten”) through grade twelve (ages 3-21). The ELPAC is aligned with California’s 2012 English Language Development Standards, and is comprised of two separate ELP assessments.